BJA FY 2026 Upholding the Rule of Law and Preventing Wrongful Convictions Program
Open. Closes November 2, 2026, 11 days from October 22, 2026, as posted on Grants.gov. Posted by Bureau of Justice Assistance, opportunity number O-BJA-2026-172726.
Get a first draft in your own AI assistant
Free, no account. Add CedarGrant to Claude, then paste this into a new chat. Your assistant reads the official notice, asks you a few questions and writes a first draft in the notice's format.
Use CedarGrant to help me apply for BJA FY 2026 Upholding the Rule of Law and Preventing Wrongful Convictions Program (O-BJA-2026-172726): https://simpler.grants.gov/opportunity/363893
Already writing? Paste this instead, with your draft attached:
Use CedarGrant to make a Requirements Map and run a Reviewer Panel on my draft for O-BJA-2026-172726.
Notice facts
| Agency | Bureau of Justice Assistance |
|---|---|
| Opportunity number | O-BJA-2026-172726 |
| Assistance listing | 16.746 |
| Funding instrument | Grant |
| Category | Law, Justice and Legal Services |
| Posted | September 21, 2026 |
| Closes | November 2, 2026 |
| Award range | Up to $600,000 |
| Expected number of awards | Not stated |
| Total program funding | Not stated |
| Cost sharing or matching | Not required, per the notice |
| Applicant types listed | State governments Special district governments Native American tribal governments (federally recognized) Private institutions of higher education Native American tribal organizations (other than federally recognized tribal governments) Nonprofits that do not have a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education County governments City or township governments Public and state controlled institutions of higher education Nonprofits having a 501(c)(3) status with the IRS, other than institutions of higher education Others (see the notice's eligibility text) |
| Additional eligibility information | From the notice: Other Units of Local Government: For the purposes of this NOFO, other units of local government include towns, boroughs, parishes, villages, or other general purpose political subdivisions of a state. States and counties that have in-house post-conviction representation programs that show demonstrable experience and competence in litigating postconviction claims of innocence. |
| Where to apply | Check the notice for where and how to submit. |
As posted on Grants.gov, checked October 21, 2026. CedarGrant lists what the notice states; it does not judge whether an organization is eligible. The official notice and its modifications control.
Summary from the notice
This is a notice of funding opportunity (NOFO) for the BJA FY 2026 Upholding the Rule of Law and Preventing Wrongful Convictions Program. This opportunity strengthens the capacity of wrongful conviction review (WCR) entities and their criminal justice and victims’ services partners to more effectively and efficiently identify, assess, and manage post-conviction claims of innocence. Additionally, it aims to enhance public safety by preventing future errors, identifying actual perpetrators of crimes, and delivering justice to victims.
Official notice and documents
- No files are attached on Grants.gov. The full text is on the official page.
Similar open grants
| Closes | Grant | Agency | Award range |
|---|---|---|---|
| October 28, 2026 6 days left | OJP FY 2026 Special Attorneys Program Round 10 | Bureau of Justice Assistance | Up to $3,000,000 |
| October 29, 2026 7 days left | BJA FY 2026 Capital Case Litigation Initiative: Improving the Quality of Legal Representation in State Capital Cases | Bureau of Justice Assistance | Up to $450,000 |
| October 29, 2026 7 days left | BJA FY 2026 DNA Capacity Enhancement for Backlog Reduction (CEBR)—Formula Grants Program | Bureau of Justice Assistance | Up to $3,500,000 |
| October 29, 2026 7 days left | BJA FY 2026 Paul Coverdell Forensic Science Improvement- Competitive Grants Program | Bureau of Justice Assistance | Up to $500,000 |
| October 29, 2026 7 days left | BJA FY 2026 Prosecuting Cold Cases Using DNA | Bureau of Justice Assistance | Up to $750,000 |